Thirty-Four Days

At this age, everything is changing. Day by day we don’t notice, but just look back over the past year and you will realize everything has. People you thought were going to be there forever aren’t, and people you never imagined you’d be speaking to are now some of your closest friends. Life makes little sense, and the more we grow the less sense it will make. So make the most of it now, before it all changes once again, because in the near future, all of this is only going to be memories.” —Unknown

Thirty-four days.

Just thirty-four days.

I have spent the past thirteen school years of my life at the same small, private, Christian, preschool-through-twelfth school. I’ve grown up with a lot of the same people, and some of my classmates have been my friends since kindergarten. I know the building inside and out, and I’m fairly confident I could navigate the halls with my eyes closed. There have, of course, been classmates who have come and gone, and a lot of the rooms have changed in appearance. But for the most part, just about everything around there is so familiar. I’m completely used to it, and since I’ve been there for thirteen straight years, I’ve never known anything else. When I think of the word “school,” there is only one location my mind can jump to.

It’s so habitual, yet as a senior, my days there are numbered. As of the date I’m posting this (March 31st, 2015), I have thirty-four more days of high school left. (That number is only weekdays, excluding the rest of spring break and any more days I have off.) It seems like so long, but it’s actually not a very long time. At all. So much is happening in the next thirty-four days of school, and there’s still so much I have to get done; but I know it’s going to whiz by, just like the past seven months. It’s so crazy to think that, after nearly thirteen years of familiarity, my time as a high school student at that school will be finished in only thirty-four days. Only thirty-four more days of waking up and going to that same building with the same classes and the same teachers and the same people. It seems like a long time, but compared to thirteen years, thirty-four more days isn’t very long at all.

Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 2.38.48 PM

One of my senior pictures taken in the fall of 2014.

As excited as I am to graduate, have an amazing summer break, and move out to start college in the fall, I know I’m going to miss high school. Well, maybe not high school as a whole, but there are things about it that I’m going to miss. I might try to deny it when I’m frustrated with schoolwork or fed-up with certain teachers, but I do know I’ll miss parts of it. I’ll miss my friends, for one. Some are in my class and will be going off on their own, and others are underclassmen who will still be at that school (or at least in high school). Some of my friends have been friends since kindergarten, some I’ve met throughout middle school or early high school, and a few I’ve only been friends with for a year or two. No matter the length of the friendship, I can say without a shadow of a doubt that I’m going to miss them all a lot. I’m even going to miss some of the people I’m not that close with. Despite my small class size of thirty-three people, I’m not best friends with everyone in my graduating class. A few, in fact, are really no more than acquaintances. But after getting used to seeing them around (even if they were never really a part of my life), it’s going to be pretty weird to not see them on a daily basis. I’m definitely going to stay in touch with as many as possible, because that school is where I met some of my best friends. But I know that as we all go our separate ways, there are going to be some people that I’ll probably never see again. And as sad as that makes me, I know that’s just how things will be.

So for now, even though I’m insanely excited to graduate and move on, I’m trying to just take things a day at a time. For the next thirty-four days of school, I’m going to try to live in the moment and appreciate all of the little things that I know I’ll miss.

Leave a Reply

