2017: Looking Ahead

“I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes. Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world… Don’t freeze, don’t stop, don’t worry that it isn’t good enough, or it isn’t perfect, whatever it is: art, or love, or work or family or life. Whatever it is you’re scared of doing, Do it. Make your mistakes, next year and forever.” —Neil Gaiman

Whelp, we’re officially over 24 hours into 2017. 2016 is over, we made it, everyone! I decided to continue on with my tradition of reviewing old goals and setting new ones. On the last day of 2016, I reviewed the goals I had set for myself at the beginning of 2016 (you can read that here if you missed it). Now, on the first second day of 2017, it’s time for my new goals.

happy2bnew2byear2btumblr

[ ] Write more! As you can tell by the sidebar of past posts, I did a very poor job at regularly writing. For 2017, I want to write at least one longer blog post per month. A shorter one every week or two would be ideal, but sometimes life gets busy. But for sure a longer, more thoughtful post at least once a month.

[ ] Get into more of a routine for going to the gym/exercising. Although I did do a lot better at exercising in 2016, it occurred very irregularly. I would like to get into more of a regular habit of specific days/times when I will work out. I feel a lot better with regular exercise!

[ ] Find an internship or more of an “adult” job for the summer. So far in my life, all of my jobs have been basic, part-time, and generally minimum wage jobs. For the summer, I would love to find something that’s a bit closer to what I want to do with my life post-college (even though I’ll probably need to keep working part-time somewhere else). Whether that be an internship or just some volunteer experience in the advertising/media world, anything that better prepares me for what I actually want to do with my life would be great.

[ ] Work on loving people more and exuding Christ’s light through me. As a human, I’m guilty of making poor decisions and saying/doing things I don’t mean. This isn’t an item that can truly ever be entirely checked off, but with this next year, I want to continue to better myself and grow as a person so that others can see even a little of what God’s love is like through me.

[ ] Make the Dean’s List (3.5+ GPA) at least one semester of 2017. I had this on my goal list last year and achieved it, and I would like to achieve it again. I get pretty good grades in general, but each year is more challenging, so it will be extra important to work hard and balance my time well.

[ ] Keep working on loving myself and being the best version of me that I can be. I’ve come a long way on this subject over the years, and I am proud of how far I’ve come. Nevertheless, it’s an area that I don’t think is ever fully accomplished, as there are always insecurities and issues with myself that can be worked on. This year and all the years to come, I want to keep working on self-love, self-care, and self-confidence.

And those are my goals for 2017! I hope you all had a wonderful New Year’s weekend, happy 2017!

Leave a Reply

